XIV VAAI Support – whats the story?

After seeing some tweets from @SFoskett regarding XIV support for VAAI, I thought I would supply an update with the information that I have to hand.

IBM added VAAI support in XIV code level 10.2.4.    However a code fix has since been written for a VAAI related issue (I don’t have the details), which means that we are delaying the official support till the release of 10.2.4a code (which should be early March).

In the meantime we are also waiting for the release of the VMWare certified driver for VAAI and XIV, which should come out at the same time.   So there are two dependancies.

As soon as both things are available, I will write a new post confirming this.
And then Steve’s matrix found here will hopefully also be updated!

I have some very keen customers lined up to try it out, so I plan to blog about the results as soon as my clients have had some run time to generate meaningful stats.

About Anthony Vandewerdt

I am an IT Professional who lives and works in Melbourne Australia. This blog is totally my own work. It does not represent the views of any corporation. Constructive and useful comments are very very welcome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to XIV VAAI Support – whats the story?

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention XIV VAAI Support – whats the story? | Aussie Storage Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: XIV VAAI Support – whats the story? | Storage CH Blog

Leave a comment