A story of hazardous waste

After 3.5 years of reliable service, the 19″ LCD monitor on my sons computer died…  and would not power back on.   Warranty long since expired and replacement LCDs being relatively cheap, I replaced his monitor with a 22″ LCD and he happily updated his Facebook status to suit.

Except there was a problem….   what to do with the dead monitor?

I had three choices:

  1. Put it in the back shed to collect dust.
  2. Disassemble it and shove the shredded carcase into the red bin for the weekly council rubbish collection (it being too large to just drop into the bin).
  3. Wait for the annual council hard garbage collection and place it out the front of our property with all the other unwanted eWaste.

But there was a further problem.   This lovely sticker on the back made no mention of ROHS and made even more disturbing mentions of mercury!

Mercury is never good for the environment

What to do with this monitor?

So I did the usual thing… I googled for a solution.

What I found was this site at Sustainability Victoria, which took me to this site which told me all about a program called ByteBack.   One trip to Officeworks in Dandenong later and my dead LCD was off to be recycled at no charge to myself.   Not only was my shed less cluttered, but I might even have helped the environment.

I would be curious to know if other people have been able to find similar programs in their locations?    If so…   please let me know, lets spread the word!

About Anthony Vandewerdt

I am an IT Professional who lives and works in Melbourne Australia. This blog is totally my own work. It does not represent the views of any corporation. Constructive and useful comments are very very welcome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

