Why the IBM SSIC is the best place to get your supported hardware information

Its been a while since I last blogged, but here is something that might interest you.  To spice things up I even recorded a quick video blog of the same information you will find written here.  So skip the video and keep reading, or watch the video and skip the reading, the choice is yours!

For many years I have used the ‘Supported Hardware List’ websites from IBM to qualify SVC support.    If you want to know if an Infinidat is supported behind IBM SVC, which version and what code level,  it’s all there.

So traditionally I would go to here.  From there you get a great list of code levels, choose your code level and then look up your product:

However I have always had some tiny misgivings about these sites.  After all, they obey no law of sorting I have ever seen.   Alphabetical order any one?   It’s like the Web Admin is a worshiper of Cthulhu and has managed to translate non-euclidian geometry into a list of vendor names.   Or maybe the site is just TOO HARD TO MAINTAIN.

Take a look and suggest a logic to this list of vendors (please I beg you):

But there is a bigger problem:  Theses sites are just slightly out of date.

Lets use that example I first raised,  if look here I find Infinidat version 2.0 is supported with SVC 7.8:

But if I then go to the SSIC here.   I get told version 3.0.x is also supported:

This was not a one-off, I found multiple products where the SSIC seemed to reflect newer information than the Supported  Hardware websites.

Moral of the story?   Always use the SSIC to confirm support, not the Supported Hardware pages.

About Anthony Vandewerdt

I am an IT Professional who lives and works in Melbourne Australia. This blog is totally my own work. It does not represent the views of any corporation. Constructive and useful comments are very very welcome.
This entry was posted in IBM XIV, Storwize V7000, SVC, SAN, IBM Storage, IBM, Storwize V3700 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

