XIV Mobile Dashboard on Android!

Much as I have been a bit of an Apple FanBoy for some time, its becoming apparent as I look around at all the smart phones that seemingly surround me, that more and more of them are Android.   So I was really pleased to see an IBM XIV Mobile Dashboard for Android in the Google Apps Store:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ibm.xiv.mobile.android

Amusingly I don’t have an Android phone to try it out on!   But given the screen captures on the Google website, I can see that it looks as elegant and innovative as the iPhone app.

In addition for iPhone, there is a new version that supports iPhone 5:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ibm-xiv-mobile-dashboard-universal/id503500546?mt=8

I am not convinced that storage admins want to configure LUNs from their mobile phones, but I am convinced that they want to access environmental status in the quickest and easiest manner possible, so apps like these are vital in a well run data center.   In that vein, you should see updates to support iPad Mini soon, plus mobile push notifications for XIV events, alerting mechanisms, blackberry support and more enhancements to the current features and interface.   Nice job IBM.

 

About Anthony Vandewerdt

I am an IT Professional who lives and works in Melbourne Australia. This blog is totally my own work. It does not represent the views of any corporation. Constructive and useful comments are very very welcome.
This entry was posted in IBM, IBM Storage, IBM XIV and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to XIV Mobile Dashboard on Android!

  1. tmueller says:

    Thanks for the heads up.. it supports my Nexus 4 but can’t install it on my Nexus 7 (2nd gen) which I really wanted it on. No android tablet support… very :(

  2. amadi35 says:

    Thank you for sharing this information

  3. PeS says:

    Don’t you know if they plan to port similar application for Storwize/SVC family? Iphone is supportet with IBM Mobile Storage Dashboard, but there’s no such application for androin ;-/

Leave a Reply

