How to spot an ex-IBMer

A few weeks ago I wrote a piece called How to spot an old IBMer.  It was a sort of  reminiscence about my early days with IBM but it turned out to be one that really touched a chord with many Big Blue veterans.  In fact the response was overwhelming, I have never received more hits or more comments for anything I have written.  It was also pleasing that these responses were almost universally positive.

So it’s ironic that today I am becoming an ex-IBMer.

Yes it’s time for me to move on, so I have decided to try something new.
I am joining a really exciting IT startup called Actifio.

So for all of you who have worked with me and helped me over the past 23 years:
Thank you.
It has been an honor to work at IBM and I wish Big Blue and all who continue to work there, nothing but success and happiness.

And for my readers, please hang around.  I am working on some (hopefully) great new blog posts.  It’s an exciting time for IT and one that I am really looking forward to being a part of.

About Anthony Vandewerdt

I am an IT Professional who lives and works in Melbourne Australia. This blog is totally my own work. It does not represent the views of any corporation. Constructive and useful comments are very very welcome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to How to spot an ex-IBMer

  1. rogerluethy says:

    All the best, Anthony ! Keep postin’ :-)

  2. Alex Sons says:

    I wish you lots of success with your new adventure.

    But Please Keep Posting!
    Your technical contribitions are highly appreciated, and other blogs were humorous at least.

  3. Jim says:

    Nice move. I look forward to working with you.

  4. MrOdysseus says:

    Congrats on your new adventure. Best of luck, and looking forward for other awesome tech posts! :)

  5. Wish you all the best! And sooner or later we catch you again :-)

  6. a6556 says:

    Best wishes in your new venture!

  7. rburbridge says:

    Good luck Anthony, I’m interested to hear about this new endeavor!

  8. Neville Horn says:

    I’ll miss your great insight on IBM storage products. Best wishes Anthony.

  9. Gabriel says:

    Anthony, I had been following your blog for months….it has a lot of useful information. Please keep your “professor” style ;)

  10. Olivier Levan says:

    NOooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo … sob!
    Just kidding. All the best Anthony and thank you for sharing all the valuable information with us so far. You’re not going too far, right? As Actifio has partnered with IBM for their data management solution. ;-)
    Good luck

  11. paulbraren says:

    Your wonderfully technical posts are an inspiration to me, and I too wish you all the best!

  12. Tmasteen says:

    Hi Anthony,
    Thnx for all the usefull IBM Storage posts and Have fun at Actifio..
    We are testing Actifio right now and it’s good to know where to ask some questions ;-)

Leave a Reply

