Who on earth is Gold Major and why is he sending me emails?

I got a great question recently:

We just updated our Cisco MDS9509s to NX-OS 4.2.7b (from Cisco SAN-OS 3.3.1c) and now we are getting emails from this source:   GOLD-major.

The actual message looks like this:

Time of Event:2012-03-05 15:07:21 GMT+00:00 Message Name:GOLD-major Message Type:diagnostic System Name:xxxxx Contact Name:xxxx@xxx.com Contact Email:xxx@xxx.com Contact Phone:+61-3-xxxx-xxxx Street Address:xx Road, xxxx, VIC, Australia Event Description:RMON_ALERT
 WARNING(4) Falling:iso.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.10.18366464=2401032512 <= 4680000000:135, 4 Event Owner:ifHCOutOctets.fc4/5@w5c260a03c162
 ThresholdType:FallingThreshold

So who is GOLD-major?

GOLD actually stands for Generic OnLine Diagnostics.  From Cisco’s website:
GOLD verifies that hardware and internal data paths are operating as designed. Boot-time diagnostics, continuous monitoring, and on-demand and scheduled tests are part of the Cisco GOLD feature set. GOLD allows rapid fault isolation and continuous system monitoring.   GOLD was introduced in Cisco NX-OS Release 4.0(1).  GOLD is enabled by default and Cisco do not recommend disabling it.

So in our example GOLD is actually reporting a major event (to do with exceeded thresholds, in this example utilisation on interface fc4/5).

Most clients using Cisco MDS switches are now moving to NX-OS (over SAN-OS, the name Cisco used for MDS firmware between version 1 and version 3) so this question will become more common.  I am working on a post that discusses recommended versions (and the sunsetting of SAN-OS), so expect something soon.   If on the other hand you are thinking…. how do I setup call home on a Cisco MDS switch?   The information for NX-OS is here.

Curiously my brain cannot help itself, when I hear Gold Major I think it means Gold Leader which leads me to Red Leader which leads me to Red October.   Maybe it’s just me?  Enjoy:

About Anthony Vandewerdt

I am an IT Professional who lives and works in Melbourne Australia. This blog is totally my own work. It does not represent the views of any corporation. Constructive and useful comments are very very welcome.
This entry was posted in Cisco, IBM Storage, SAN and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Who on earth is Gold Major and why is he sending me emails?

  1. Pingback: Who on earth is Gold Major and why is he sending me emails? « Storage CH Blog

  2. Jordi says:

    Great post Anthony. Who can say that technology isn’t funny ?

  3. Daniel996 says:

    Reminds me of the old DOS joke – Who is General Failure and why is he reading my hard drive? :)

Leave a Reply

