Some book reviews

If you want to read something visionary, I just finished The Medium is the Massage by Marshall McLuhan.   With dramatic changes occurring in the world, often driven by social media, it is amazing to read a book that understood this so well yet was written in 1967.  In fact Marshall passed away in 1980, well before most people got near a TCP/IP address and when the role of the Internet in societal change was still many many years away.   A fascinating read (with some amazing art work!).

I have also been reading the excellent Steve Jobs bio by Walter Isaacson, what a fantastic book!   I did not know about the friendship between Steve Jobs and Larry Ellison, nor about Al Gores role in Apple.  The details of the early collaboration between Steve Jobs and Bill Gates are really interesting, as is the amazing back story of how Pixar came to be.   The book is as much a history of the personal computer as it is a bio of Jobs himself.   Reading the book was also quite thought-provoking, especially on  themes like: motivation; ignoring the impossible; creating A-teams and the impact of office layout on creativity and teamwork.

At one point the book refers to the Macintosh software dating game, which led me to watch this video.  It is also a revelation.   Enjoy!

About Anthony Vandewerdt

I am an IT Professional who lives and works in Melbourne Australia. This blog is totally my own work. It does not represent the views of any corporation. Constructive and useful comments are very very welcome.
This entry was posted in Books I have read and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Some book reviews

  1. jnuttle765 says:

    Hi Anthony great post. I just finished reading Steve Jobs by Walter Issaacson as well. If you haven’t read iWoz: Computer Geek to Cult Icon: How I Invented the Personal Computer, Co-Founded Apple, and Had Fun Doing It by Steve Wozniak, I think you would enjoy that as well.Certainly not as good nor insightful as the Steve Jobs biography but a good companion book (so to speak). Thanks for this blog I really enjoy it.
    -john nuttle
    IBM Storage ISV

    • Hi John.
      Thanks for the comment.
      I have indeed read iWoz, and while I also really enjoyed it, I found some of it a little puzzling, such as the time he went to Hawaii and did nothing for four weeks. I was also a little confused by his advice at the end, about working alone. I ponder whether either Steve could have ever succeeded without a great crowd of supporters and team members.

      I certainly agree though that it is a great companion book, it definitely reminds us that Apple was not the creation of just one man.

  2. Pingback: SVC and Storwize V7000 Release 6.3: Keys now optional! - The Business of IT Storage Blog - IBM Storage Community

Leave a Reply

