Does PuTTY record your every move?

I love PuTTY, it is one of my favourite pieces of open source software.   For those who don’t know what PuTTY is, it is a free implementation of Telnet and SSH for Windows and Unix platforms.   Personally I use PuTTY for connecting to Storwize V7000s, SVCs, SAN switches and Unix servers in my lab and at clients.

Being someone who does implementation services, I want to always be sure about what I do, what I did and what affect it had.   So keeping logs of every time I connect to any device is very important to me.   I want to be able to go back in time to any point at any client I have ever worked with (sounds like time travel, but hopefully you get the idea).

I achieve this by changing the default behaviour of Putty so that every new Session I save uses my preferred default settings.   Note all the screen captures below use version 0.61 of PuTTY (which came out July 2011).

First start up PuTTY.  We are going to change the Default Settings (which I have highlighted):

Now select Logging from the left hand panel and change all the indicated settings (2, 3 and 4).   The folder I use is C:\PuttyLogs but you could of course choose a different one.   Note the &H_&Y&M&D&T means the session file name will be the host name, year, month, day and time for that session.

Now go back to Session, highlight Default Settings and hit Save:

Now every new session you open and/or save will automatically log your session output to the specified folder.  Existing Saved Sessions will not be changed.  You will need to update each of these separately.

About Anthony Vandewerdt

I am an IT Professional who lives and works in Melbourne Australia. This blog is totally my own work. It does not represent the views of any corporation. Constructive and useful comments are very very welcome.
This entry was posted in Brocade, IBM Storage, SAN, Storwize V7000, SVC and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Does PuTTY record your every move?

  1. Cris says:

    While we are providing feedback on SSH clients in a storage blog, I have real issues with the way putty handles sessions (terminated connection just leaves the window opened without notification, sessions don’t reconnect, etc). As an alternative, I started using something called Mindterm (http://www.cryptzone.com/products/agmindterm/) a few months ago. Mindterm overcomes the session handling issue, by entering and exiting to a connection prompt. It also supports uploading and downloading files directly from the working directory to the host without the need to open another connection to the server or have a second SCP/SFTP application.

Leave a Reply

