CMUA00007E error while running the IBM STAT tool

The IBM Storage Tier Adviser Tool (known as STAT for short) is a clever piece of software that lets you predict how much business value you would get from adding SSDs to your Storwize V7000, SVC, DS8700 or DS8800.   This is because you can add SSDs to all of these products and then have hot spots dynamically and automatically migrated to SSD using IBM’s Easy Tier technology (which is offered as a no charge feature).

For clients who have not yet purchased SSDs, or who are unsure which Storage Pools to deploy them into, the STAT tool will help with decision-making.

I recently struck a rather simple problem with the STAT tool after installing it:  I kept getting a CMUA00007E  error. I downloaded the tool from here and installed it successfully onto my Windows 2008 64-bit lab machine (running on a IBM x3850).    The install went fine so I then proceeded to download the heatmap from my Storwize V7000. The heatmap file is automatically generated by Easy Tier and is used as an input file for the STAT tool.  You can see an example of where to find the heatmap file in the screen capture below:

I then placed the heatmap into the same folder as the STAT tool and tried to generate a report.  It failed with this rather annoying message:

C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\STAT>stat dpa_heat.78G01A6-2.110823.072309.data

CMUA00007E  The STAT.exe command failed to produce the heat distribution output.

I initially thought I had a bad heatmap, but since it is a binary file, opening it in a text editor did not tell me anything.

Actually the issue was simple:  I did not have write authority to that folder.  To get around this I instead started the command prompt as Administrator:

I then re-ran the command:

C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\STAT>stat dpa_heat.78G01A6-2.110823.072309.data

CMUA00019I The STAT.exe command has completed.

Having run the tool I was now able to open the index.html in the STAT folder and see much hot data I have in my lab. Turns out that I don’t actually have any hot data right now! Don’t tell my manager though, he might try to take my SSDs away.  #;-)

Having run the tool once, I did not need to use this trick again.   It now runs without starting the command prompt as Administrator.

About Anthony Vandewerdt

I am an IT Professional who lives and works in Melbourne Australia. This blog is totally my own work. It does not represent the views of any corporation. Constructive and useful comments are very very welcome.
This entry was posted in DS8800, IBM Storage, Storwize V7000, SVC and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to CMUA00007E error while running the IBM STAT tool

  1. SL says:

    hi Anthony, my understanding is that when configuring easytier for a mdiskgrp you need to leave some free space for extent movement. if ssd mdisk is 300G, SAS mdisk is 3072G, in the corresponding mdiskgrp, recommended to leave 300G (1 x ssd mdisk) free or 600G (2 x ssd mdisk)? thanks.

  2. SL says:

    thanks Anthony.
    i’ve moved vm’s out of a vmware datastore, which was easytier enabled, it’s been empty for more than 24hrs, but still SSD tier capacity lists as 125GB. is there a way to flush data out of SSD’s for other LUNs in that mdiskgrp to use? i thought when cold, easytier will move data back to SAS automatically?

Leave a Reply

