IBM Storage Management Console for VMware vCenter – updated!

The IBM Storage Management Console for VMware vCenter version 2.5.1 is now available for download and install.   This version supports XIV, SVC and Storwize V7000 as per the versions on the following table (the big change being support for version 6.2):

Product Firmware version
IBM XIV® Storage System 10.1.0 to 10.2.4x
IBM Storwize® V7000 6.1 and 6.2
IBM System Storage® SAN Volume Controller (SVC) 5.1, 6.1 and 6.2

The download link is here.

If you want to see a video showing the capabilities of the new console, check out this link.

After installing the console, you will get this lovely new icon:

Start it up and select the option to add new storage, you now get three choices:

If your using SVC or Storwize V7000 you need to specify an SSH private key.   This key MUST be in Open SSH format.   This caused me a problem as I kept getting this message when trying to add my Storwize V7000 to the plug-in:

 Unable to connect to 10.1.60.107. Please check your network connection, user name, and other credentials.

I could use the same IP address, userid and SSH private key to logon to the Storwize V7000 using putty, so I knew none of these things were wrong.

I reread the Installation Instructions closely and realized my mistake.   It clearly states:

Important: The private SSH key must be in the OpenSSH format.
If your key is not in the OpenSSH format, you can use a certified
OpenSSH conversion utility.

I pondered what conversion utility I could use when I realized I had the utility all the time: Puttygen. I opened PuttyGen, imported my private key (the .ppk file)  and exported my SSH private key using OpenSSH format.   You don’t need to do anything with the public key.

I was then able to add the Storwize V7000 by specifying the private SSH key exported using OpenSSH format.

Now I have both IBM XIV and Storwize V7000 in the vCenter plug-in and can get detailed information about and manipulate both.  In this example I have highlighted the Storwize V7000, revealing it is on 6.2.0.2 firmware.

I was tempted to detail all the many things you can do with the plug-in, but your better off watching the video via this link.

So are you using the plug-in?   Have you upgraded to version 2.5.1 yet?   Comments very welcome!

About Anthony Vandewerdt

I am an IT Professional who lives and works in Melbourne Australia. This blog is totally my own work. It does not represent the views of any corporation. Constructive and useful comments are very very welcome.
This entry was posted in IBM XIV, Storwize V7000, SVC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to IBM Storage Management Console for VMware vCenter – updated!

  1. Graham Atkinson says:

    Hi Anthony, I installed this today and was a bit disappointed to be honest. I am a massive fan of the V7000 and was awaiting the 2.5.1 vCenter plugin with great enthusiasm however I feel like I am now waiting for v3.0…

    Most disappointing was my discovery that the automatic setting of datastore multipath policies seems to only apply to XIV – big :-((( – this can be a pain to script with the VMware vMA and was hoping the IBM vCenter plugin was going to save me some pain.

    Secondly there seems to be a limitation that new datastores can only be created with a maximum of a 15 character name – crazy when the V7000 itself allows long names!

    Thirdly I’d love to see the automation of new LUNs taken all the way through to a formatted datastore with a name that matches the V7000 volume. This is a common problem I find at customer sites who have different volume and datastore names and have cumbersome spreadsheets to lookup the correlation between the two.

    Oh and I also got caught out by the OpenSSH quirk!

    Cheers

    • avandewerdt says:

      Thanks for the long considered comment.
      You raise some good points:
      1) Pathing is still fixed-path. This is because the Storwize V7000 uses the VMW_SATP_SVC definition which uses Fixed Path by default. So what your seeing is normal.

      2) The 15 character limit is caused by the decision to make the plugin work with SVC 5.x which has a 15 character name limit. The curse of backward compatability.

      3) I would also love to see the plugin take the next step and go from LUN creation to DataStore creation.

  2. rburbridge says:

    Thanks for covering the SSH key requirements. I wasted some time myself in the lab with this same problem.

  3. Pingback: IBM Storage Management from VMware | virtualstoragespeak

  4. Pingback: IBM Plug-ins for VMware vCenter « Many Miles Away

  5. Pingback: VMware vCenter: IBM plug-ins « Bart's Weblog

Leave a Reply

