Storwize V7000 and SVC release 6.2 is now available

As Barry Whyte pointed out in this blog post, the release 6.2 code  is available for download and installation onto your SVC and Storwize V7000.

  • The Storwize V7000 release of the 6.2 code is here.
  • The SVC release of the 6.2 code is here.

I thought I would quickly check out two of the announced features of the 6.2 release:  the new Performance Monitor panel and  support for greater than 2 TiB MDisks.   So on Sunday I got busy and upgraded my lab Storwize V7000 to version 6.2.0.1.

Remember that in nearly every aspect the firmware for the SVC and Storwize V7000 are functionally identical, so while I am showing you a Storwize V7000, it equally applies to an SVC.

Performance Monitor

Firstly I tried the performance monitor panel, and what better way to show you  what I saw than on YouTube? This is my first YouTube video so please forgive me if its not slick.   I started the performance monitor and captured two minutes of performance data using Camtasia Recorder.   Because it is fairly boring to stare at graphs slowly moving right to left, I then sped it up eight times, and this is the result:

The video is shot in HD, so if what your seeing is grainy or hard to read, change the display to 720p or 1080p.   Now if you want to see the performance monitor at its actual speed, here is the original normal speed video.  Remember this is the same video as above, just slower.  It can also be viewed in 720p.

So what are you seeing?

  • The top left hand quadrant is CPU utilization.
  • The top right hand quadrant is volume throughput in MBps as well as current volume latency and current IOPS.
  • The bottom left hand quadrant is Interface throughput (FC, SAS and iSCSI).
  • The bottom right hand quadrant is MDisk throughput in MBps as well as current MDisk latency and current IOPS.

You will note that each metric has a large number (which is the current metric in real time) and a historical graph showing the previous five minutes.    You can also change the display to show either node in the I/O group.

I found the monitor to be genuinely real time: the moment I changed something in the SAN (such as starting or stopping IOMeter or starting or stoping a Volume Mirror), I immediately saw a change.

Greater than 2 TB MDisk support

Next I logged onto my lab DS4800 and created two 3.3TiB volumes to present to the Storwize V7000.  I chose this size because I had exactly 6.6 TiB worth of available free space on the DS4800 and I wanted to demonstrate multiple large MDisks.   On versions 6.1 and below, the reported size of the MDisks would have been 2 TiB (as I discussed here). Now that I am on release 6.2 with a supported backend controller, I can present larger MDisks.  In the example below you can clearly see that the detected (and useable size) is 3.3 TiB per MDisk.

What controllers are supported for huge MDisks?

The supported controller list for large MDisks has been updated. The links for Storwize V7000 6.2 are here and for SVC  here.   If your backend controller is not on the list, then talk to your IBM Sales Representative about submitting a support request (known as an RPQ).

About Anthony Vandewerdt

I am an IT Professional who lives and works in Melbourne Australia. This blog is totally my own work. It does not represent the views of any corporation. Constructive and useful comments are very very welcome.
This entry was posted in Storwize V7000, SVC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Storwize V7000 and SVC release 6.2 is now available

  1. Pingback: Storwize V7000 and SVC release 6.2 is now available | Storage CH Blog

  2. Pingback: vriendelijke groeten with VAAI on SVC and Storwize V7000 | Aussie Storage Blog

Leave a Reply

