Its time to start again

I have been blogging since May 2010 when I started a blog page on the IBM developerWorks site.    I was inspired to start blogging by a visit to Tony Pearson, who was definately an inspiration and someone who was very happy to share his knowledge and experience (thanks Tony!) .

Since then I have experienced many of the highs and lows of blogging:

  • Not enough time.
  • Fear of making mistakes.
  • Joy at getting positive feedback and comments.
  • Concern when blog posts garnered very few views and no comments.
  • Not enough time….  oh hang… I already said that.

As part of a new start in 2011, I have decided to move my blog over to WordPress and start a new chapter in my blogging.

My reasons for moving?

  • The WordPress interface appears to be more user friendly and feature rich.
  • The WordPress interface appears to be better suited to interaction with my readers.
  • I want to create a greater sense of separation of my blog from IBM.  This is not to say I don’t dearly love working for my employer ( 22 years and counting), but I can see some benefits in blogging under my own banner.

The good news is that I plan to leave the DW blog in place for now, so if you are following me there, I will post links back to here everytime I create a new post.  I will also be posting to twitter immediately.

 

 

About Anthony Vandewerdt

I am an IT Professional who lives and works in Melbourne Australia. This blog is totally my own work. It does not represent the views of any corporation. Constructive and useful comments are very very welcome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Its time to start again

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Its time to start again | Aussie Storage Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Peter Zutenis says:

    Hope it all goes well. I enjoy following what my fellow professionals have got to say. Heck, I even learn stuff sometimes !

Leave a Reply

